I am getting a new guitar soon. I really wanted a Gibson LP Studio Wine Red but... I'm a broke student so I will go for Epiphone which I'm fine with.

There are two guitars for sale at Thomann.de:
- Epiphone LP Studio in Worn Cherry at €299 (about $372)
http://www.thomann.de/de/epiphone_lp_studio_worn_cherry.htm

- Epiphone LP Studio Deluxe in Wine Red at €265 (about $330)
http://www.thomann.de/de/epiphone_les_paul_studio_deluxe_wr.htm

My question:
Why is there such a price difference, why is the deluxe version cheaper by so much? Shouldn't the DELUXE cost more???

I've compared the two and the only differences I found was:
1) Deluxe has nickel hardware and the non-Deluxe had chrome
2) Deluxe has a much shinier finish, the non-Deluxe has a very plain matte finish

So... what's up here? Is the non-Deluxe better made?

PS: if you have any experience with these guitars please share it here.
That is a bit odd. The Studio and the Studio Deluxe are essentially the same guitar aside from the Kluson-style tuners on the Deluxe as opposed to Grovers. That could possibly explain the price difference, but possibly also the fact that lots of the newer LP's that Epiphone makes have dropped in price without losing any level of quality. The satin Studio could be an older model, hence the slightly higher price despite not being any better of a guitar.

I wouldn't get either of them though. I'd get a Standard.
Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
I wouldn't get either of them though. I'd get a Standard.

I can afford the standard but I really just would prefer the studio. Do you think there would be a massive quality difference? I mean... even with Gibson the difference between standard/studio is cosmetic.
The Deluxe has more "bling" like inlays on the neck and binding on the body and a gloss finish rather than the worn cherry finish. The Epiphone web site calls the Studio a "No Frills Attitude" meaning a lot less cosmetics.
Quote by Rickholly74