I just started learning tapping and have a couple questions:

First, I have the fingernails on my right picking hand longer than my left, because I sometimes finger pick. Not as long as, say, a professional would, but enough so that it feels unsettling to tap with it, compared to a hammer on with a finger from my other hand, where the nails are closely trimmed. Is this a common experience, just something you adapt to? Do people who use tapping cut the nails on their picking hand closer, at least for the finger(s) they tap with?

Second, I was looking at a guitar solo that had a minor chord arpeggio played on one string with a combination of hammering and tapping, such as a D minor on the B string:

h t
e
B----3-----6-----10
G

I was doing that okay, but then I realized if I wanted to do the same hammer-tap arpeggio with a major chord instead of a minor chord, I'd have to span an extra fret with my pinky hammer, like a D major hammer-tapped like this:

h t
e
B----3-----7-----10
G

I can stretch my pinky an extra fret while playing most of the time, but I cannot see myself hammering down with that stretch with enough strength to make the note sound good. I guess this is more of a hammer question than a tapping question, but is this a skill most experienced guitarists develop? Or is it not common to hammer-tap major chords on one string? Or, if you do this, do you plan it out so you are doing it higher on the neck (where the frets are closer together). This would surely be doable on the D string, for example:

h t
e
B
G
D--12-----16----19

So I guess the question is whether I should work on being able to hammer a major third gap low on the fretboard, whether for use in arpeggiating a major chord using tapping, or for any other purpose, or whether most guitarists just would figure out a "work around" for this situation, like moving to another string.

Ken