This is my dilemma, and it’s one I’ve wrestled with for a number of years. With the many variables of playing electric guitar, I’m sure this will turn out to be a fairly in-depth question and may even turn into more of a synopsis of my search for the right electric guitar. Hopefully there are a few of you that are dedicated/bored enough to hear me out, and maybe even make some suggestions.

To preface the question, I should probably start with my guitar experience and style. I started playing when I was 16 on my dad’s 56 reissue gold top Les Paul he bought in 72. I wasn’t a natural by any means, but I had such a love for 60s-70s music that it carried me through. I quickly threw out using a pick because playing with my index and thumb felt more natural. My parents bought me a sunburst MIM Stratocaster for my 18th birthday, but with the complexity of tone and technique amongst the distractions of high school, it mostly gathered dust while my interests were elsewhere. Once in college, I regained my interest in guitar after purchasing a Martin Dreadnaught acoustic from the local guitar store, and from there my playing took off. All of the finger and thumb stuff felt great on acoustic, and learning songs like Blackbird, Babe I’m Goin’ to Leave You, Stop This Train, Operator, New York’s not my Home, etc. really helped to improve my right hand as I added more techniques to my arsenal. From this point I became fairly proficient at learning fingerstyle songs and made myself familiar with a thumb pick and hybrid picking as well. As I progressed I was drawn toward funk styles of playing and changing the rhythm of any old song I had in my memory banks. Anything that was rhythmically engaging was an absolute blast to play and led me to more development. I quickly grew an interest in 12 fret acoustics and they have since become my favorite guitars. I’ve even started to collect little 12 fret 000’s and parlors and I absolutely love them. They are the perfect representation of what