I've been 'told' we are doing our first gig very soon.

I have no pedals.

I play in the practice studio with the house amp and use the amp for overdrive/distortion etc. Switching between a clean channel and an overdrive channel mid song, while using volume on my guitar for solo and 'important' lead parts.

I have no pedals. Can't afford much yet. : (

What i'm asking you guys is.... i can imagine going to the venue with no pedals and house amp doesn't have a familiar amp with a channel selector for clean and 'dirty' sound.

I've saved enough money to buy a pedal but was looking for advice, not necessary on what name of pedal to buy... but, if i buy a distortion pedal is that enough for gig? Meaning i can set up a clean channel and hit the pedal for the appropriate distortion for each song and also turn it on and off mid song for proper sound.

Also is my volume knob on the guitar enough, (for now), to give volume on solo parts of songs?

Thanks guys absolute beginner here
I don't gig (so bear that in mind )

a rat is a pretty decent pedal for suiting a ton of different amps, and for having a wide range of distortion tones on tap (at a pinch it'll do overdrive at lower distortion settings and a sort of saturated fuzz at higher distortion settings).

that's what i'd probably get if I wanted a pedal and didn't know what amp I'd be using. On the cheap(ish) the mooer black secret is a rat clone, and is pretty nice. Also teeny so easy to carry with you (but it needs a power supply as it's so small it can't fit a battery).

EDIT: yeah guitar volume knob will be just fine for solos as long as you don't mind playing with your guitar's volume knob at 8 all the time you don't have a solo. and bear in mind if you're playing distorted, the guitar volume knob will lower your distortion amount moreso than volume. also if you don't have a treble bleed on your guitar volume knob you'll lose highs (which some players like and which some hate).