Hi,

I'm considering buying a Ibanez AR420. I've been playing guitar for many years, but have played mostly y Fender Strat and my Ibanez RG, but have never played a Les Paul or anything like it. I really love the looks and - from what I've heard on the net - the sound of the AR420, and thought I'd give it a go.

Should I be concerned by the low price? I mean, I haven't played many guitars over the years, and would not know what to expect from a guitar in this price range. I've heard of cheap guitars where the frets fall off and other bad things, but I guess I shouldn't expect this from a AR420?

What would be the most noticable difference from a guitar in this price range and for a guitar double the price?

Best regards,
kenneho
Totally solid guitars. Don't worry about the price at all, that's how people talk themselves into spending more than they need to.

More expensive guitars might have more name-brand hardware (especially pickups) and might have a bit more attention paid to fret finishing and the finish, and of course then there's the brand premium to be considered. I'd say the biggest difference you'd notice between that guitar and, say, an ESP at twice the price would be the pickups and perhaps the finish. Another thing about more expensive guitars is that in general (and I'd say especially with the ESP example) you'll see more consistency from guitar to guitar. So the weight, wood quality, and overall finish might vary a bit more on a $650 guitar than on a $1300 one from a similar company.

These are all just generalizations though, the main thing is that if you play it and like it, it's a good guitar for you. There are always diminishing returns, and the AR420 is not what I'd call a cheap or particularly cheaply made guitar. It's got quality in all the right places, and if you get a good one and swap the pickups you'd probably have a hard time telling it apart from a much more expensive instrument.