I'm a beginner singer who has NOT been able to sing beyond the limits of my "speaking voice" and no matter what I do, I cannot train my vocal chords to stop straining. I've watched many youtube tutorial vids, read many, MANY how to articles, the whole nine freaking yards, and I cannot for the life of me stop straining. Is there a reason why my vocal chords are so lazy that they cannot stop with the freaking straining? It's very frustrating. Thanks a bunch.
You have to breathe properly, support, have proper posture and narrow your vowels. You also have to be relaxed. Dont push. Its not something you can learn in a short perioid of time. I have been taking vocal lessons for almost a year now, and i still strain when i get to the high notes. And speaking of vocal lessons, get yourself a techer. Your progress will be much faster, and you will not accidently destroy your voice int he process. A real teacher can see and hear you singing in front of him and figure out exactly what you are doing wrong and help you correct it. And with singing, that is the only real way to go. With online tutorials and how to guides, it will take you years to get the same ammount of progress that you would get with a vocal teacher in a matter of weeks or months.
Joža je kul. On ma sirove z dodatki pa hambije.
Voice lessons... before you break something.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
You're using the wrong muscles. It's kind of unintuitive, but you actually have a lot of room up there where you're straining. It's the whole singing from the diaphragm thing.