I am a budding guitarist in my first band (at 44). I have an old japanese made Squire from 91-92. I dont' have an electric guitar amp (currently using an acoustic amp at home and someone elses amp at practice) and I have no effect pedals. I have about $800 in my budget. Part of me wants a new guitar. Part of me wants an amp and part of me wants to start playing with pedals. What is the next logical purchase? Will it matter if I buy an amp now that sounds good with my Squire when I do purchase another guitar? Will pedal sounds change at all with different guitar/amp setups? Is there a combination that lets me do all three that makes sense (I realize this is a broad subject but humor me if you have a thought on it)?

Cyndie
With that budget, I'm sure you could fit all three of them in...

What sort of stuff do you like?
Bass Gear:

Mensinger: Speesy
Fender Precision 1989 (CIJ Rosewood)
Fender Steve Harris (CIJ)
Lakland J Sonic 5
Epiphone Explorer
Maruszczyk (custom) Jake

Ashdown CTM 100
Yes, if you change your amp- or other parts of your signal path- your tones will change. However, your amp is the base of your tonal pyramid. Start there, and you can build intelligently and with fewer surprises than otherwise.

For example, if an amp sounds good with your Squier, it will probably sound better with a superior version of that same guitar.

What kind of stuff are you playing? And is your band trying to gig, or is it just for fun?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Nov 29, 2014,
^^ + ^ Yeah.

And yeah everything affects everything else, in terms of sound. So if you know you're upgrading everything it pays to have half an idea on what all you're thinking of, just to be sure it all sounds good together.