So I've been playing guitar for several years and I'm fairly proficient I guess, my style of playing is almost entirely improvisational with a lot of influence from Hendrix, SRV and Frusciante, but when improvising I stick almost entirely to the pentatonic scale, because that way I canjust know what notes I have to play around with, then just go crazy within that parameter. But with learning modes, everyone I've asked has always said you use a mode for a different chord, like mixolydian mode over a dominant 7th or something like that, only thing is when I'm jamming with people I don't really know what chords are being played, and I try to mentally detach myself from whats going on, so I'm jsut playing, not consciously thinking about everything I do.
So my question is, how can modes be helpful/useful for improvising when you're not playing over a simple backing track that you've already sat down and figured out the chord progression, and which scales will go with which chords, etc.?
Guitar players are literally the only musicians that care about modes.
Check out my band Disturbed
Here is a very good thread covering this:
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16999

But in terms of improvisation, it is still possible if you look at the very basic modal chord progressions as they are simply based on the major chord progression, ie Maj Min Min Maj Maj Min Dim...

I'm not an expert on all modes, but the reason why Mixolydian works with dominant 7 chords is because both the mixolydian mode and dominant 7th chords contain the minor 7th.
Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Godin Velocity
Peavey Vypyr 15 Watt
AMT WH1 Japanese Girl Wah
Marshall BB-2 Boost/OD
Joyo JF-07 Classic Flanger
Joyo JF-37 Analog Chorus
Last edited by BlueIceBox at Nov 30, 2014,
Quote by StewieSwan
Guitar players are literally the only musicians that care about modes.

This actually isn't technically true, but I know exactly what you mean, and I find it really funny/strange.