Hey guys! I've been playing guitar for a few years, and for some years I attended a private music school. I went through a rock course, and then 2 or 3 years of jazz+theory courses. The best times to me were learning how all seems to be linked theoretically, and then applying that during improvisation and all that.

However, I recently had to move to another country. A few months back, I went to another music school in here, but they only had private classes. No school that I can find in this small town has group practice that I can attend - they are either too expensive, or only a select number of people can be on the "shool's band". Having said this, I am struggling to try and stay motivated to keep practicing, but the joy of discovering something new and applying it on the guitar is something that I want to keep getting.

Having said this, I'd like to ask you the following questions:
  • Do you recommend any self-learning guitar and music theory books?
  • What do you do to stay motivated when you have to practice and improvise only using backing tracks? (and what resources do you use?)
  • Do you recommend any online resources where I can learn and practice new things?

Thanks for all the help!
Maybe try recording some ideas, this always motivates me. Recording is a pain though, I have to be in the mood. Also make a vid of you playing, sometimes you look better than you feel.

Practice stuff you are weak at, that should give you an idea what to look for on youtube.

Yeah, I also am bored of playing to backing tracks and doing exercises. Lately I've been recording stuff and not even putting guitar on. It comes and goes with me, but I make sure to play a couple of hours every day even if I'm not inspired.

Start your own band, I miss playing live, our drummer comes back in Dec, so I look forward to that
Last edited by Tempoe at Nov 30, 2014,
1. Creative guitar by Guthrie Govan is one of the best learning resources for guitar out there. I cant recommend it enough.