Going to start buying pedals for my marshall what pedal should be first priority i was thinking either boost, overdrive, or a distortion pedal. which do you think? If distortion im wanting like a mick mars sound distortion
For a good boost/overdrive pedal, I'd definitely check out a Green Rhino. They are based off of a tube screamer, and they have some nifty tone controls on them. I live by mine as my "boost."
Skip the username, call me Billy
Depending on budget and where you shop, check out the Visual Sound Jekyll & Hyde or the Red Witch Famulus- both are good dual OD/Dist pedals.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I'd say Tuner pedal like Boss Tu-3 or Polytune 2.
They won't change your sound, but tuning with those clip on shits will be a pain in the ass at loud gigs. You will thank yourself later.
What Marshall is it? Perhaps you don't need a distortion at all. Certainly a tuner, perhaps a wah in front of the Marshall. In the loop, a delay and reverb.
Jackson: DKMG w/Zakk Wylde EMGs
Fender: Fat Strat HSS
Epiphone: Les Paul Custom w/SD Pickups
Dean: Performer E Acoustic/Electric
Vox: DA5
Vox JamVox
Digitech: GNX4 Workstation
Digitech: EX-7 Distortion Factory
Boss DR-880
MAudio Bx5a Deluxe
Quote by Rensa
I'd say Tuner pedal like Boss Tu-3 or Polytune 2.
They won't change your sound, but tuning with those clip on shits will be a pain in the ass at loud gigs. You will thank yourself later.

I've used my clip on snark at loud gigs, with no problems. They work through the vibration of the wood, so outside sound doesn't interfere. That's pretty much the whole point of those tuners, besides being small.