Hello, I am wondering how many of you know every note on the fret board? I mean, if someone was to be like 'show me the b note on the 4th string' you'd be able to choose it without any reference.

I have been playing for a year now (self taught) and I am trying to learn every note on the fretboard, but I don't know how thorough I need to be. Like when you skilled players improvise, do you refer on scale shapes to play, or do you know every single note you fret when you play.

I know scale boxes, and I can play notes up the neck on one string all day long but when I have to cross over strings that's where I have to stop and be like okay I'm on the fourth string, fith fret, and I refer to the open D and count down to G when I'm not using scale boxes, or not staying within one scale box.

If you do know every note on the fret board and don't rely on scale boxes, what would your best way of learning the matter be? I have been trying to learn the strings each string a day and I think that's why I struggle to switch strings.

Thanks for your help.
I know the notes well but in my experience, I have never met someone who thinks entirely in notes. It will always be a combination of boxes, notes, tactile reference, ear reference, etc.
I can say with confidence I know every note on the fretboard. However knowing every note is an effect of doing other things, not necessarily the goal. From reading music in every position, and learning shapes, soloing over chords in every key, and playing guitar solos and solos from other instruments and analyzing them, you eventually know every note quite handily.
Most of all of this came when studying guitar in college, and it doesn't happen in a year or 2 but its a very real possibility for all guitar players if they want to. Just don't try learning the notes by learning the notes, that would be the least practical way of learning.