so im really keen on getting into music i have loads of ideas but im stuck as where to go next?

every time ive asked i get a multitude of different answers and my brain works in such a way that theres so much to learn i cant start anywhere!

im a competent player i know all major minor dominant 7th and minor 7th chords as a starting point chord wise, i only know the a minor pentatonic scale.

i really wanna find a band and make music, bluesy rock prog really, and i know i have so mucjh to learn in order to be confident with myself, right now i couldnt dare be in a band cause id get found out for such a lack of theory knowledge!

can anyone advise as im entirely self taught for 8 years now, where do i go next, what should i be learning, songs? from start to finish, i tried that but again i try to learn with my ear and i just get found out.

should i learn the notes on the fretboard, or chord progressions? or just try write whats in my head or just go with a particular chord or note and such?

if you consider yourself a good gutiarist please let me know how you did it!
1. Learn fundamental theory, which is a term I made up myself, but refers to: scale structure, harmony, chords, melody, rhythm, etc.

2. Learn the fretboard, it's just one big overlapping pattern.

3. Learn as many scale shapes as you can. For guitarists in particular, the basic blues scale shape is essential. Scale shapes are also movable, so an A minor blues scale (on the A string, for example) is the same as a G minor blues scale, just down two frets.

4. Develop your ear. Learn where melodies reside in the scale of the key, learn where the chords are as well, etc. You could start by listening to pop music, as the progressions and melodies are simple and followable. Once you've got a grasp on that, move to more complicated music like Jazz and you'll be a guitar god in no-time.