Hello Everyone,

This is my first post i have finally saved up enough money to buy one of these two guitars. I am not sure which one to go with. I've always wanted a Gibson Les Paul Custom but then Mark Tremonti is the reason i started playing guitar and i have always wanted his signature model considering i learned how to play on a Tremonti SE. What are your thoughts? I am curious about build quality. The stuff i like to play is Alter Bridge, Classic Rock, Metallica, Stone Sour, Three Days Grace, Creed, Tremonti's solo album stuff.

Thank you!

Zack
Never buy a guitar simply because some rock hero's name is on it.
If the guitar itself has something on it that you can't live without (other than the logo <G>, then go ahead.

That said, the PRS is a very well-built guitar.

The Gibson may or may NOT have the same appointments this year that the Custom was known for as recently as four or five years ago (check the fretboard materials, etc.).
if you do get the Mark Tremonti PRS guitar swap the bridge as soon as possible. It cannot intonate so doing pinch harmonics is going to be a lot of fun. Luckily this is an easy bridge to find replacements for. If you wanted a whammy bar I believe a Kahler would replace it in without any re-drilling.

I've heard the stock pickups are good too. I hate mentioning pickups because I'm a guitar tech and it comes up every single day. When I got mine it had EMG pickups in it so I haven't tried the PRS ones in it. All in all the big difference is the PRS is lighter and thinner. Sort of like Marks les paul standard if memory serves me right. Besides that on the SE model the tuners are junk. But grovers aren't too expensive.