Hey y'all.

I've been playing guitar for a while and I'm pretty decent at playing I guess. I have no trouble at all playing complicated riffs or fast metal songs. BUT. When it comes to solo's my fingers just turn to mush.

I am self taught, learning mostly by looking at youtube videos and such. I've never really done any exercises, and I wouldn't even know where to start with them. People I've asked before tell me to play scales up and down, but there is just so many times I can play a scale up and down before I start to become bored, and not really seeing much progress with them by simply doing them as they are. Dunno, maybe I'm doing something wrong? I have been playing quite a bit to backingtracks lately, and while that is fun, I find myself doing the same thing over and over, playing some lick a few times and then doing variations of them, without really getting any more accurate or faster (which is some of my goals.)

Anyway, I managed to fiddle my way through the Comfortably Numb outro solo and upload that to youtube ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNkbvnEP6Vc ) And I should point out that this is NOT note-for-note, more of a improv with some stuff from that solo thrown on there for good measure.

So I was wondering if you guys could take a look at the solo and point out any flaws that you see and then perhaps suggest what I should do to work on that. And if this isn't the correct forum for this thread I apologize and hope that some friendly mod move it to where it should be!

Thanks!
Hey, man. Not a bad job at all on the solo.
From what I saw in the video, it looks like a few things are going on that you could improve upon. It looks to me like you're bending with your fingers and not your wrists. When bending notes or doing vibrato, keep your finger somewhat stiff and rotate your wrist similar to how you would open a doorknob. This will reduce tension, which seems to be a problem you have that I'll get to in a second.