I've heard many times that Lars from Metallica can't drum, now not being a drummer myself i fail to see people's reasoning behind this

Could someone just give me a brief description as to what makes him so bad, and don't give me any of that "He just is" crap or "He can't drum like he used too" (no duh, he is a 50 year old man, well past his physical prime)
He's a fine drummer. I just guess that everyone hates him for the snare tone in St. Anger. I've never had a problem with his playing (and I have some experience with percussions).
He just mostly plays really basic stuff. His beats are all boringly simple, he never does anything other than the most obvious beat. He's marginally better than ACDC's drummer. I don't really care for Metallica anymore anyway, but he in particular is very mediocre. I used to enjoy kill em all, ride the lightning, and master of puppets, but I just got bored of them.

edit: not to say that I'm really a drummer, but the drummer in my band and quite a few that I know are very good and I understand the drums decently enough to know what's going on.
Last edited by The4thHorsemen at Dec 6, 2014,
^ Better than AC/DC's drummer? I think AC/DC has a good drummer - they actually had a hard time finding one to replace Phil Rudd when he left the band in the 80s. Complex beats doesn't make a drummer good. It's the "groove".

Lars's problem isn't the beats he plays. IMO he has some good beats. His problem is that he's not a tight drummer (any more - he plays sloppy fills and just doesn't keep the tempo that well). And lately he has started overplaying.

In the late 80s/early 90s he was a good drummer. But then he stopped practicing.

I don't hate Lars but he could play better and I think he should practice. And he should also stop overplaying. He plays too many fills and some of them are in the wrong place (for example middle of the phrase).