Hi UG experts,

I am a relative beginner (2 yrs) playing an Epiphone LP Special II. Not the best starter guitar I know, but I found UG and its goldmine of advice after I bought it.

I have become used to all of the strings going slightly flat as I play, especially when bending, and the need to re-tune every half hour is a feature of my life at the moment. Recently, however, I have noticed that the G string has started to go sharp instead. This is the one that gets most punishment with my attempts to improve string bends. With the others going flat but the G going sharp this is really noticeable, especially for 6th & 5th string barre chords, and means that I need to re-tune more frequently.

Can anyone give me any clues why this might be happening and suggestions how to fix it? I can understand the other strings going flat (tuning machines "loosening", the string not sliding over the nut or bridge saddle etc, resulting in a drop in tension or increase in string length), and it has been suggested to me to use some graphite on the nut and bridge saddles next time I change the strings.

The G going sharp implies that the string tension is increasing or the string length is getting shorter, which I can't explain. The only thing I can think of is that the bridge saddle is moving towards the fretboard as I bend, but I can't feel any play in it.

I guess might just be a "feature" of a cheapo guitar, and maybe Santa will bring me a better one, but although the tuning stability is a nuisance I do like playing this guitar (the blindness of first love, maybe!) and it would be good to fix the problem.