Hi everyone. I seek advice from those who have experienced recording a band's demo. We are going to record a three-song demo this month and I'm equally anxious and excited.

I'm the guitar player and singer, though I'm not an expert at neither of those, but I make do. So I would like to ask you: what things should I bear go mind as a first-timer, both as a guitarist and as a singer? I have recorded demos at home a thousand times using virtually on other equipment than my guitar and computer, but this will be a completely different scenario and I don't wanna screw this up.

Another issue that I'm unsure of is what exactly to record. My musical influences are many: Green Day, The Strokes, Foo Fighters, The Smiths, Oasis, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and the list goes on. So my band has songs that sound a bit different from each other. I like that, I like that I can write and play different kinds of music, but when it comes to doing a demo that might cd handed out to venue owners, sold to fans/concert-goers, should I go for variety or would it be better to record songs that sound similar to each other?

I would really appreciate it if any of you can share your experience/knowledge on this. Thanks.
Talk to the studio mgr and most will have a checklist or suggestions for preparation. I always bring a few reference tracks so the engineer knows what we are shooting for in the mix. Know what gear they have vs what you need to bring. Get the drummer there way early for mic setup.