Hey all, my name's Joey and I'm from Austin, Texas. I have been playing guitar for around three years. I know this question has probably been asked hundreds of times; What is the best amp for high gain situations? I'm aiming for a Dimebag Darrell or Down tone. I'm currently running a Fender Modern Player Plus Tele with a Duncan Invader in the bridge. The amp I'm working with is a 80s Peavey Mace Series with a Behringer Ultra Metal pedal. I plan to soon get a Jackson Soloist with EMGs (81/85). I have narrowed down my top three interests to Marshall, Orange, and Randall. The issue is, my price range is around a maximum of $1500. If anyone can help me decide on a manufacturer and a model, I would appreciate it.
Randall RM50/100 then grab yourself a couple modules or have them made by either jaded faith or salvation mods and you will be set for a long while. There is an RM50 combo on GC used right now for $199. My guess is it does not have the modules with it. Are you looking for combo or head/cab?
There are a lot of great high gain amps out there and $1500 is a pretty decent budget.
Mesa's are well worth the look. For your budget you could afford a Mark V.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Orange TV50H 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
Thanks! I'm looking for a head/cab setup. I'll definitely check out that Randall. I'm not very experiened with the in-depth working of amps and pedals and such. I'm mostly a plug in and play kind of guy.
$1500 will get you a really excellent amp. I would hardly call that an issue. Though I cant really make a accurate suggestion for an amp, since I was never really into Dime and dont know his tone well. But i do believe he played solid state Randall amps. The RM would probably be a good choice and give you plenty of other options down the line if your preferences change.

Edit: you could get it in head form and get a cab to go with it. Not sure which speakers he prefered though.