So I play solo often, and Im a beginner, but I want to add some texture to my songs, Ive youtubed advance strumming techniques and get guys saying down up up down, Im not referring to that, Im talking about palm muting, percussive snap, etc. What should I specifically youtube search to improve my style since right now it just sounds like a robot? Or what excercises can I do? Or a rythm dude to listen to and learn from? Thanks as always to anyone who replies.
Hey

I'd say it depends on your approach; if you wanna take lessons from a safe bet on that topic, go into Vickie Genfan youtube's video, they're pretty cool and well explained. On the other hand, practising songs from a band you love's going to sharpen your feeling on the matter, and that doing something you enjoy; for instance, i'm currently digging into Frusciante's style, that helps me a lot, but it depends on your taste as well.
Listen to A LOT of Dave Mustaine and Gary Holt's work. Learn how to palm mute insanely fast triplets if you're playing metal. Learn the guys' work I mentioned and you will improve greatly, some suggestions are Funeral Hymn, War Is My Shepherd, Bonded by Blood, and Children of a Worthless God by Exodus and Back In The Day, the whole Rust In Peace album (this is THE thrash guide for lead and rhythm playing!!!), and some other early Megdaeth stuff. It will definitely be touch and challenging at first, but trust me it made me such a better player!
Quote by NewGuy4673
So I play solo often, and Im a beginner, but I want to add some texture to my songs, Ive youtubed advance strumming techniques and get guys saying down up up down, Im not referring to that, Im talking about palm muting, percussive snap, etc. What should I specifically youtube search to improve my style since right now it just sounds like a robot? Or what excercises can I do? Or a rythm dude to listen to and learn from? Thanks as always to anyone who replies.