I've been playing guitar for over five years now and I've been quite serious about it. Sometimes I even feel like I'm a pretty good guitarist and a musician.

Right now I just feel like I can't play at all. it feels like I can't even play simple riffs like back in black, sweet child o' mine and smells like teen spirit properly, everything sounding very unfinished, careless and crude. You know, I play all the notes, but it still sounds wrong: And I am not a beginner , I can play stuff by Guthrie Govan and BTBAM pretty well, except right now everything sounds like crap.

I've been away for a month and today I played guitar properly for the first time since, and usually I feel better after a break. Now I feel like I'm a beginner again, having no control and feel in my playing.

Is this something that has happened to someone else too? I mean, I really struggled with the intro of sweet child o' mine, and I thought that I was good enough to play it three years ago. Is it possible to just have a phase when it feels that you physically can't play guitar as well as you should? I might try to shoot a vid and see what people think of my technique, but I can't do that right now. Maybe I just can't criticize myself properly.
I have "On," days and "Off," days. My off days are when I revert back to the blues. It gets me going. Three chord basic blues. Been playing since 1987.
It happens. I've been playing for 7 years and went felt uninterested for a whole year. My technique sucked when I picked it up again. What really rekindle my love for guitar is R&B music. You just gotta find something new to play. The same things gets boring after a while. And it's nice to mess around with things you barely play because everything seems a whole lot newer.
If Rock is a life-style, then Metal's an addiction

Yelloooow!

Of The

UG Challenge

Are you sure your'e not in a depression? Could make every thing around you sound. feel, taste, shitty.
This happens to a lot of people.