I've been playing a bunch of different acoustic guitars, trying to find the one I like the most. My favorite was the HD28 but it's price was a bit out of my range. The D18 was nice too. I was about to pull the trigger on a Gibson J35 when for some strange reason I went and bought a Martin HD28 on eBay "mint." First off it's not mint and second I will never buy a used guitar on eBay again. I am not an expert guitarist but I can go to the guitar store and play a handful of songs and the guitars are easy to play. I come home and try it on the HD28 and first off, it won't stay in tune. Second it takes a lot of pressure to hold the strings down, otherwise it doesn't play properly. There is some noticeable fret wear which I'm sure isn't helping. The action seems kinda high. And last it doesn't have the right sound. I hit the low E string and instead of having a mellow bass sound, I get this "metallic" sound, if that makes sense to anyone. All this after putting a set of Martin strings on that Martin recommends for it on their website.

Anyone have any suggestions? And I don't mean negative feedback, or returning it. I fully expected this because this happens whenever I buy something used. I'd either want to have a guitar shop fix it (if this is something they can fix? Anyone know what can be done besides a refret?) or sell it and get a D18 that's at the guitar shop and sounds really nice. Does anyone know why this particular HD28 would sound so much more "metallic?" Like when I hit it with a pic, you really hear that "pic" noise in it compared to the other new guitars.
Have it checked over by a good tech. The worn frets and high action could mean it was owned by a 'grasser, and a good set up, perhaps including a fret level, might work wonders.

Is the metallic sound only on the open low E string or do you get it on the fretted notes as well?
Are you claiming you hear a different, "metallic sound", other than the one that is quite prevalent in brand new strings?