I want to eventually get into finger style playing. I have seen people play songs from chord sheets and they just seem to know which strings to pick and in what order. They fret the chord and pick individual strings and it sounds amazing.

Is there a formula to it or does that just come with experience?
I have no formal knowledge of technique

that being said, I started out doing the most basic which was the every other string kind of thing...think very early iron and wine. Basic, 4:4 time, develops finger movement.

With enough time and practice your fingers will be natural on the freeboard and you'll be mixing it up and doing alternative rhythms. Listening to other music helps too for becoming aware of the endless possibilities.

Listen to Elliot smiths "angeles", listen to some tallest man on earth, some ben howard, some blues and jazz, heck even some Rodrigo y gabriela.

Reason I point them out specifically, is because when you listen and watch...they are using several different methods and "formulas" at once. That is what makes a good fingerstyle player.
classical fingerpicking is probably the first place to start. it consists of using the thumb, index, middle and ring fingers (called by their Latin names of Pulgar, Indice, Medio and Annularis respectively) and assigning to a specific string the E, A and D strings are played with P (the thumb), G is played with I (index finger), B is played using M (middle finger) and the high E is played with A so it kind of looks like this:

e-A
B-M
G-I
D-P
A-P
E-P

You fret your chord and you pluck the root note of the chord with your thumb and pluck the G, B, and high E strings in an order that makes you happy and voilà! You've started fingerstyle.

Of course there's infinite variations on this, especially when leaving classical music e.g. flamenco guitarists tend to also use their little finger, jazz and blues don't usually stick to the whole "one string, one finger" thing, etc.

and finally.