Budget - I am a poor college student and I don't want to spend much more than $300 (not including a pedal)

Genre/guitarists - mostly early Venom and Celtic Frost, early Helloween, Iron Maiden, Summoning (raw stuff), and some Converge but if possible I would like to be able to get a heavier/cleaner modern tone like Sylosis or Trivium.

I'm perfectly open to used gear.

I practice in my bedroom along to guitarpro. I do not gig or even jam with a drummer or any other guitarists. I may do some recording at some point with a drum machine

My nearest guitar center : http://stores.guitarcenter.com/fairview-heights
(I would have to order them)

I currently play on a Line 6 Spider IV 75W, which I have grown to dislike, and don't use most of the effects anyway. I'd like to try a better thought out/more interesting rig.

The guitar I'll be plugging into whatever rig I buy is a Fender MIM strat with a dp100 super distortion in the bridge and dp103 PAF in the neck.

I got the idea from this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWsQt5ptnMc

(go to 10:10) Where one of them decides on this rig, but I think he is using the htv-112 80W which must be cheaper for them in the UK, I would have to get the ht-112 50W unless I bought a used micro terror for $99, then I could probably do the htv. I would also get a cheap distortion pedal like the Digitech Grunge or Death Metal. (I'll be trading in the Line 6)

Just wondering if this was a good idea or not, and if anyone has any other (or better) suggestions.

Thanks
Who are you? The prince of darkness? Don't you have any friends?

A used Peavey Vypyr Tube.

A Pod and some headphones.

Ignore the Blackstar cabs. Especially the HTV. Comes with the garbage Celestion Seventy 80 speaker. I had that cab for a day... Never again.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2
Last edited by lemurflames at Dec 17, 2014,