Hi all, I am currently recording a lot of my demos, trying to get them sounding nice!

just want some advice on my recordings, I am no professional producer I just use my little home studio to record my songs. I only have one demo up at the moment but will be uploading more in the future, I know the timing isn't perfect but without a real drum kit I struggle to record drums in good timing.

I've also attempted to add some lead to this track called ''Fires of Hell''. I am by no means a lead guitarist but would like some advice on my lead part as I don't know if its too much for the track or if it sits right?

I started recording with Reason but am now using Ableton live 9.

https://soundcloud.com/temptedyouth/fires-of-hell
Lead is fine, might be a little hot - could stand to be buried a tiny bit. It's repetitive, but I think that works in this song. Might be neat if it moved in a different direction once or twice maybe around the bridge section or later choruses, but that's a matter of taste.

The (only) thing that really bothers me is your fast drum beat sections, that beat is a bit too fast and poppy for what's happening, nothing else synchs up with it and it's not really necessary. Maybe tone that down a little bit?

Otherwise, I'm not picking up on your 'timing isn't perfect' comment - everything sounds fine. Besides, if something is off with midi drums, you can just push them around on the piano roll.

Keep it up!
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Hi mate, thanks for the advice, yeah I know what you mean about the poppy sounding drums I tried taming it down in the mix but struggled to do so. fast drum beat section... do you mean the chorus drums? I tried keeping it nice and slow but I didn't feel it helped the song reach that high place where a chorus takes you I might just try 8th notes as its quarter notes at the moment and see how that sounds

Thank you
Quote by Sid McCall