I'm interested in getting a guitar good for funk. Only thing I know of is a Strat. What else is there? Think Kool and the Gang and Rick James
Strats- and clones of Strats- are the #1 guitar of choice among funk guitarists. But, like any other genre, there have been players* who cut their own groove, and used Teles, LPs, SGs, Firebirds, ES-355s, Jacksons, BC Rich, and whatever they preferred to use.

* like Eddie Hazel, Mike Hampton, Prince and "Captain" Kirk Gibson.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Dec 22, 2014,
Funk guitar is more about an amp with a good clean tone and some minimal flavoring of your signal with pedals. By that, I mean that you'll see guys using huge pedal boards, but they use most of the effects on them sparingly as opposed to full-out.

You'll want a good classic wah & echo/reverb, plus a decent fuzz & distortion pedal. But again, except the wah, you're not diming out those pedals. Restraint is key: flavor your clean tone, don't overwhelm it.

Chorus isn't too common.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Dec 23, 2014,
Strats rule the roost in funk but teles and anything with a nice bright tone will work. Get an Envelope follower or envelope filter depending on who makes it (these are a kind of auto wah that works on your pick attack they are very cool.) and a good compressor.
Theme from Shaft was a Les Paul. really doesn't matter that much. don't forget a wha.
The other guitarist in my band is a really solid player and he exclusively uses Strats and Teles. He sometimes tries to play some funk on my LP but it just doesn't sound right. If you really want a les Paul make sure it has coil splits and preferably an out-of-phase switch. Otherwise, Strat for sure!