Hey guys, been playing for my entire life but it's been a while since I got a new electric. Upon opening my Epi Plustop Pro today, when I bend the fret wire feels rough, and eventually the strings make a mark on the frets. I'm not sure if it's clearing the gunk that makes it feel rough or if the strings are grinding the frets, as I have had that happen to my Epi Special II.

Total noob question lmao. Unfortunately it has a crack in the neck BNIB so I'm replacing it tomorrow. Just want to make sure I keep it in good condition.
What works for me is taking some steel wool and lightly rubbing it over each fret. This will remove any buildup and make the frets nice and smooth. I cant stress lightly enough, as too much pressure will put grooves into the fret wire. You will also want to be careful of rubbing over the fretboard, as it will mar the finish. You can tape of the fretboard around each fret to avoid any mishaps.
Hope it helps!
Jason is right but I suggest you get some painters tape (masking tape) at the hardware store (I like the pretty 3M blue stuff) and some 0000 (very light) steel wool. Try a Home Depot or Lowe's if you have any nearby. Tape the fretboard leaving the frets exposed then lightly buff the frets. The tape will protect your fretboard so you can clean the frets without worrying about the scaring the fretboard. Once the frets are clean you can determine if the frets have any grooves in them that will need to be dressed with a fret file (hopefully not) or replaced (again hopefully not). Either way it is a good idea to just start by cleaning up the frets first and then see if you need anything more.
Last edited by Rickholly74 at Dec 26, 2014,
I had the same guitar and the frets felt the same, however after a few hours of playing they smoothed out completely

that guitar is like falling in love with a stripper
Silmeria
Valkyrie
modded Squier Strats