Ok so I've been playing bass for four years or more, but only the last year I've been actually taking it more serious and trying to get better. I'm in a metal band and we're about to release our first EP. I'd say I'm good at my instrument but the other guys are excellent and I want to be able to do more. I want to get better and the only way I think I could excel my writing and playing techniques is to learn some theory and scales and whatnot. Thing is I'm not really sure where to start. I play in drop C (CGCF) so whenever I look up scales I'm discouraged since its meant to be played in standard, I know I could find the corresponding notes in my tuning but I don't really want to do that. So could anyone help me here with some tips or something?
Well; we would need an accurate assessment of your musical knowledge and aptitude at this point. Can you read music in standard notation? Can you read standard notation in both the bass and the treble clef? Do you understand how the "Circle of Fifths" works? Do you know your major and minor scales? Things like that.

When people say that they want to learn "Music Theory," most of them have no idea what they are getting themselves into. This is because while the foundational concepts of music theory are the same across the board, the practical application of those concepts to your specific instrument are often very different. You will come across people who know just about everything there is to know about music theory for, say, the guitar; but they could not begin to write a piece of music for half a dozen instruments because they do not know how the theory applies to those instruments. They could imagine how they want everything to sound, but imagining is a long way from making it happen.