Ive been playing for over 10 years yet ive never gotten a straight answer to this question

okay, anyway all of my guitars pickups have little screws or bolts in them, underneath the appropriate string, etc. I want to know what exactly they adjust. ive played with them on all my guitars and havent really noticed a difference in any of them.

thanks guys, no hate pls
Ibanez S7521qm 7 string
Ibanez S771pb
Fender Jaguar HH Special
PRS SE Custom 24 7 string
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
ah no worries about dumb question. What I hate most on here is what guitar should I buy or which pickups should I get the most on here without playing any or getting a brand new guitar and not even trying the existing ones.

to answer your question it's an easy answer, string volume
the closer the screw is the louder the string is

if you were to remove them completely for those with flat head screws the coil would "De-acitvate" and give you a single coil tone without the hum I can imagine. Worst case scenario there would be hum.