My friend wants me to teach him to play electric guitar, and he wants to learn rock.

My background is in classical guitar with fingerpicking techniques and also classical piano.

How would you go about teaching him rock? Should he learn to read music? Should I ignore fingerpicking and just focus on playing with a pick? Should I use tablature only?

I'm not really familiar with teaching someone just electrical guitar and rock, maybe some out there can suggest or give some advice?

Thank you.
I taught my brother a bit of basic guitar-playing, here's what I think you should do:
- Get your friend started with playing before laying all this theory down on him, that way he's got something to practice and you can correct his technique.
- Start with a few basic chords that can be played in a song, but can also be picked (think house of the rising sun or fade to black)
- Start him off with a pick, even though you're into classical fingerpicking stuff, chances are he doesn't care about it. Get him to practice fingerpicking a bit later on maybe.
- Ask him what he wants to play! If a newbie is kept interested they will keep practising, making them improve. Look at some songs he wants to play and teach him them. Be sure to teach him how to use read tab so he can learn other songs himself if he likes.
Hope this helped
Quote by DjangoR
My friend wants me to teach him to play electric guitar, and he wants to learn rock.

My background is in classical guitar with fingerpicking techniques and also classical piano.

How would you go about teaching him rock? Should he learn to read music? Should I ignore fingerpicking and just focus on playing with a pick? Should I use tablature only?

I'm not really familiar with teaching someone just electrical guitar and rock, maybe some out there can suggest or give some advice?

Thank you.

Don't.

No seriously, don't.