I am actually a beginner player. With that said, I can spend around $600 - $700 on the guitar itself. I rather spend more now and work myself into a better guitar. I more interested in better quality for the money.

So far I have on my list
1. PRS SE Tremonti Custom- it has a tremolo
2. Epiphone Les Paul Tribute 1960 with Gibson 57 USA pickups

Out of these two, which one is better built and which one would you get and why?

If you want to recommend any other guitar in this price range feel free to.

Thanks for answering
Tough choice, both are decent guitars.

The Epiphone is a classic LP style guitar. The PRS will probably have the better build quality, plus the extra functionality of the trem. However, a tremolo can be a bit of a hassle for a new guitarist. Personally, I didn't own a guitar with a trem until I had been playing for several years.

That said, between those 2, I'd go PRS.

You might also consider Reverends. On the eBay list, you'll even see a Roundhouse, their (sadly discontinued) take on the LP.
https://reverb.com/marketplace/electric-guitars?price_max=701&query=Reverend&product_type=electric-guitars&make%5B%5D=reverend

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Musical-Instruments-Gear-/619/i.html?_from=R40&_mPrRngCbx=1&_udlo=250&_udhi=701&_nkw=reverend+guitars&_dcat=33034&rt=nc
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Dec 28, 2014,
What have you got in mind for an amp? The majority of your tone comes from the amp. Also, if you provide this information we will be better able to assist you with recommendations:

Budget? - What is practical for you and what is your limit?

Favorite Artists? - Are there any guitarists whose tone that you'd like to get close to?

Preferences? - What body shapes, neck profiles, brands, and number of frets do you like/want?