Hey guys.

So for the holiday season, I decided to upgrade from a 4-string bass up to a 5-string (I considered a 6 string but ultimately decided against it).

I've played 5-Strings in the past, but I've never really owned my own, some some of the intricacies elude me (and maybe this is common knowledge in general and I'm just an idiot, because while I consider myself a decent bass player, I'm wholly self-taught, so I don't know much about why actually causes issues like this.

To my problem (sorry for the huge intro):

On my new 5-string (which I bought solely to play low tuning songs really), whenever I tune down my middle string starts acting as if it's in contact with a fret, buzzing and refusing to ring out any open or 1st fret notes, and notes close to the 1st fret sound off (frets 2-5) while notes get "better" as you move up the fretboard.

The odd part is that I know for a fact it didn't do this when I went and purchased it, and nothing at all has happened to it to cause any damage (it's been strung with little tension at all and laying flat when in my case, etc.) and I've tried raising my string height to no avail.

Is this fixable (like is it something I should know about like the bend of the neck, etc)? Or should I start looking for alternative options (like trying to exchange it if I still have the warranty)?

Any help at all would be appreciated guys.
Thanks!
what tunings are you going between?
when you tune down, the tension on the neck is going to lessen. this means some of your strings may get close enough to the fretwires to make the buzzing noise or even no note at all. as string height isn't working, its time to check the truss rod. there should be a socket either just behind the nut or on the joint where the body meets the neck which will control the rod in the neck which gives it its strength. its been a while since i last touched any of mine so i couldn't tell you which way to turn it.