Hi

I have a lack of speed, I've been playing for a few years but I have never really focused on it. I mainly play blues and rock, so I don't want anyone to give me shredding exercises, but I'd like to learn to increase my speed. If anybody has exercises focused in those two genres (lots of bending, etc) then please post them.

Thanks
Peavey Classic 30
PRS SE Custom Semi-Hollow
+some pedals
Quote by diabolical

That is exactly what TS said they didn't want.

TS: The thing is that no exercise will make you faster, certainly not on its own. You can choose almost anything and as long as you play it right and practice it properly you'll be able to make it faster.

Really I think the best thing you can do is pick a song you like that you can't play, take a section of it that gives you trouble, and work on that the same way you would an exercise. Just make sure you play it with good economy of motion and as little excess tension as you can and you'll get better.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Last edited by Zaphod_Beeblebr at Dec 30, 2014,
Well, the Rock Discipline covers everything, it is not necessary that you become a shredder. There are a lot of tightness and speed excercises...if you watch Petrucci you'd also discover that he is as good of a rhythm player as any, unlike other shredders I can think of like Vai, Yngwie, etc. who lack rhythm skills as far as I am concerned.
Quote by George Juggles
Hi

I have a lack of speed, I've been playing for a few years but I have never really focused on it. I mainly play blues and rock, so I don't want anyone to give me shredding exercises, but I'd like to learn to increase my speed. If anybody has exercises focused in those two genres (lots of bending, etc) then please post them.

Thanks