Hello, UG community! This is one of my first posts so just tell me if this is in the wrong section or something.

So, I'm looking for a cheap guitar but is high enough quality that it won't just fall apart/even with new pickups sound awful. I'm still new to guitar, so at the moment I'm just doing this for fun and for something to do, not to make it the best playing guitar ever. I want it to be cheap because, well, I have almost no extra money at the moment and because it's, like I stated above, just mostly like a hobby for me to try. It'll be the first time I've done this.

Thanks for any help given!!
www.guitarfetish.com has kits, bodies, necks, nice pickups and hardware
www.byoguitar.com has kits
a used Squier strat/tele is also a good cheap mod platform
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Will Lane
I wanted to mod a Squier Tele. Now I don't really, so read this thread: https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1662686&highlight=squier+tele+mod

TS wants to do a pickup mod maybe a few other things, you wanted to change necks and a lot more than it seems TS wants to do
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
I like the guitar fetish idea a lot, but I haven't a clue what their guitars are made out of to be honest. I mean if it's plywood , basswood or something I couldn't care less. It's personal experience of course.

at the end of the day if you think it sounds good that's all that matters. Intonation and tuning stability are important too. Try craigslist. I learned so many wiring mods buying beat up guitasr with the mindset what worst could happen.