Hi guys, I've paid an audio engineer to mix and master one of my songs (for pretty cheap) as I am not very good at doing that. Just wanted to know from all of you experienced ones out there what you reckon to the quality of the song as a whole and the sound! And whether to continue to use the service he is providing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgKaGy0xF98

Thank you
Seems pretty good. What did you provide to him? Did he do anything other than mixing your stems, like programming drums or whatever? Just curious.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Hi Sid, Sent him stems that I recorded using Ableton live 9 and he did do a little editing with tightening areas up. with the drums I use a alesis sample pad and hook up via ableton via midi to usb cable but hes not done that much with the drums tbh
None of the problems I have could be fixed by mixing or mastering. It's the source that I have problems with.
I've bought, sold, and traded more gear than I care to admit.
Quote by Brendan.Clace
None of the problems I have could be fixed by mixing or mastering. It's the source that I have problems with.

What are your problems?
Quote by kingvx3
Sounded pretty good mate

Thanks man! Appreciate your comment
If you insist...

The timing is all over the place. Some parts are in time, some are not.

The lead guitar is out of tune.

The rhythm guitar is mono tracked from what I can tell.

The drums, sonically, seem to be "okay", but they are clearly fake. Whether that's on purpose or not, I believe it would do your song more justice to have them more realistic sounding. Would come across as more raw and indie feeling.

The only part I would knock on the mix would be the over-use of reverb and delay and it being too much in your face.

And that's after listening twice on iPhone headphones....
Last edited by Brendan.Clace at Jan 6, 2015,
Quote by Brendan.Clace
If you insist...