Hi, I started playing guitar about 8 months ago, however stopped playing for a month recently as i barely felt like I was improving and especially seeing how easy some people made it look, it felt like i had such a long way to go, and got disheartened. However with the new year and all (and after listening to Orion) i decided to start practicing everyday.

Does anyone know any good practices for a half beginner to do daily?

Thanks, Ollie.
Last edited by Olliethecool at Jan 7, 2015,
I agree with Tazz. Justinguitar.com keeps you on point and emphasizes practicing to get better rather than simply playing the things you can already play.
What has helped me to get back into it is simply focus on how cool the instrument is and how much fun I can have with it. I'm tying to focus on the thoughts and attitudes that help me to pick up the instrument every day, even for 20 minutes.
A big part of being successful ( at anything really) is having a good relationship with yourself, learning what works for you and not be harsh when you can't learn as fast as others. Who says I have to play like Mamlsteen or I'm worthless? I'm against any mentality or school of thought that makes guitar seem so challenging that it becomes unpleasant.

Set small goals and be sure to have a way to measure your progress. Maybe write down a schedule with a deadline. Hey, whatever works!
Last edited by metal_mermaid at Jan 9, 2015,
Well you do have a long way to go - those guys who make it look easy have been playing a heck of a lot longer than 8 months Like the old saying goes "You can't enjoy the journey if your eyes are always fixed on the destination." You've got to enjoy playing at your current level and take pride in the little achievements you're constantly making; not worry about how you compare to somebody who's been playing 20 times longer than you have.