Hey all,

I was just looking for some opinions of the Laney Ironheart heads/cabs. I was looking at getting the 60w head and pairing it with my Marshall (MG) cab (which really sucks, btw).

I honestly don't play the MG much because I can't get a good tone. I have an old Johnson combo which sounds amazing and I just mic it if/when I play out.

I like to play a lot of metal/shred and class rock/blues.

I have read the reviews and all I see are a lot of positives.

1) Should I take the plunge and get a better cab (is it going to make a huge difference)

2) Is there anything which you would recommend comparable but maybe a little cheaper?

I've been playing for over 10 years now and I think it's time to get something of quality.

Thanks!
what is your max budget?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/
Also where are you?

The Laney Ironheart is a great head. Probably one of the more underrated ones out there. Very modern voicing, different from the more Marshally VH100R in their lineup.

Should you get a better cab? Absolutely. Kind of pointless getting a good amp and running it though a cab with crappy speakers that doesn't resonate well. The cab and head are two halves of a whole amp. If you're in Europe the Harley Benton 2x12 is a great choice. In the US I'd stick with the Laney IRT cab or look at Avatar cabs for good quality for the money.