As you might guess from the title and my post count, I am essentially a complete newbie to guitar who wants to pick it up. I have read the stickied rules posts and the like

Basic info
- I have no gear whatsoever, and so will be shopping for guitar + amp + everything
- My budget is for "everything" (guitar+amp+stuff) to stay under $1,000 (US). Based on the commandments in the rules post regarding good guitars and shitty amps, I figure that means $400ish for the guitar. I am willing to break the budget slightly for meaningful quality improvement. What I don't want to be is That Guy who gets an absurd axe that's way above his ability to appreciate it (the cousin of That Guy who has never golfed and spends $1500 on a set of irons or That Guy who starts biking with a $4500 carbon fiber & titanium setup)
- My #1 priority with the guitar is not replicating a particular sound but instead learning how to play well. A guitar that's good for learning on is what I really want
- I have fairly small hands (I'm 5'6"), so one of my concerns is making sure the neck will accommodate that
- My tastes run the gamut of everything that could be considered rock, from Eagles to Metallica to Rush to Black Keys to AC/DC to Nirvana. My favorites though are Zeppelin/Stones/Clapton/Hendrix classic rock and 90's alt & grunge rock Pumpkins/Soundgarden/Alice in Chains/Foo Fighters. If you forced me to pick a favorite I'd go with the Smashing Pumpkins. I would really, really, love to be able to play "Rocket". My taste for metal extends to Metallica and a handful of Ozzy songs and no further (any metal that requires a subgenre modifier like "Thrash", "Death", or "Nu" doesn't really do it for me. This board seems metal-heavy so sorry to disappoint). My taste for Punk extends to Green Day and no further (and if you are a "GREEN DAY ISN'T PUNK!!! THEY'RE SELLOUTS!!" person then I have very little taste for punk)