I could badly do with help.

Quick run through - I'm playing guitar almost 4 years. I know little theory (which I'm also looking to improve, but don't know how). I only have an acoustic guitar, a pretty cheap one. I had about 6 months teaching, but the guy was a rip off and kind of a nob.

Now in regards to skill - I'm a pretty competent rhythm guitarist, I guess. But only your basic major, minor, 7 chords. After that, my lack of theory hinders me, though that's not necessarily a problem.

My main problem is finger style playing. I'm dreadful, and really don't know where to start. Even songs as easy as, say, 'Rolling Stone' by The Weeknd - even though I know the picking pattern and the chords are basic, I still find myself making quite a lot of mistakes.

I guess i have a lot of issues with timing. Like, Atlas Sound - 'Shelia' is 3 basic chords in triplets (I think) that I can play easily, but when I try to sing and play, I find myself really forcing it.

I have a metronome and all the other gear available, but I have no idea how to put it to use.

I really should'a made this a long time ago, my development has been stagnant with a long time, even though I play a ton. I'm willing to post videos of technique or whatever necessary, if anyone can help me, I'd really love to improve. I know the knowledge is out there, but to someone like me, lacking in music theory or people to bounce it off, I really don't learn a thing.

Any help much appreciated. Thanks guys.

- Jamie
If you want to learn fingerstyle there are lots of lesson vids on youtube or you could buy a lesson dvd.

Then work at it until you become proficient.

That's basically it. You put in the time. Patience is the big play.
I know all that, but I'm saying I'm overwhelmed by all the information. I'd like more specific help.
If you want to learn fingerstyle - get a classical guitar teacher or research beginner classical guitar arpeggio and scale exercises.