Hello everybody

I have a few gigs lined up and I need to buy an amp. The venues that I will be playing in are mainly restaurants.

How much power should I look into? should 30W be enough?

I won't be playing alone, and my style gravitates towards the Jazz side. I need good cleans!

Is there any particular model you'd recommend? Reading around people seem happy with Line 6 spider IV.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for your help!

Andy
Are you playing electric or acoustic?
Fender Lefty Stratocaster
Ernie Ball Super Slinky Purple Strings
Vox AC15
Misc. Pedals
electric!

ocasionally mic-ing up for my flamenco guitar without a plug.

Thanks
I used to have a 30w Spider I. It was loud enough.
I'm not a SS expert. Try the Vox Valvetronix amps also if you have a local GC or SA.
Fender Lefty Stratocaster
Ernie Ball Super Slinky Purple Strings
Vox AC15
Misc. Pedals
Thanks for your answer.

Could you please define those acronyms? SS, SA, GC? I'm new to this stuff!

Thanks for your help
Quote by andycoke
SS refers to solid-state, basically stated, digital amps which don't use vacuum tubes. SA and GC; Sam Ash and Guitar Center, two big name music stores where most people, myself included, by their goodies.

30W should be perfect for your venues. I do not use solid-states, anymore that is, so I can't necessarily recommend one. Line 6 is good, I had one, but after switching to a tube amp, I couldn't return to a solid-state.

Clean settings are decent in solid state amps, so if that's what you're after, then go for it. Keep in mind though that the distortion tends to be significantly more artificial.

Overall though, you could settle for one of them, but I'd actually recommend heading over to a Guitar Center or Sam Ash if you have one near you and testing out some tube combo amps. See if the any of them have the clean sounds you're looking for. Hope this helps
Quote by no one, ever
I absolutely love the pop scene nowadays. So many artists with real musical talent!