Hi, I've been looking into getting my first ever -acoustic- guitar. I have read the FAQ on finding a guitar, but it was very little help as I live a long way off any sort of music store and rarely have any way of getting to them anyway. I've been talking to a few on-line friends of mine who play guitar, but most of them play electric. A couple recommended me getting a Epiphone DR-200CE(?), but I'm a complete beginner at this so I'm not entirely sure about what I'm looking at. I would prefer something that wasn't incredibly expensive, as I most definitely wouldn't have the money. I'd like something I wouldn't really want/need to replace after I'm not so much of a beginner, and something that would be easy-ish to learn on with my small hands. Will I need anything else other than the guitar? Would I be able to learn guitar without lessons?

Any help would be appreciated! :-)
Find a Yamaha with good action, intonation and that stays in tune. They make the best low end price-point acoustics imho.
Quote by reverb66
Find a Yamaha with good action, intonation and that stays in tune. They make the best low end price-point acoustics imho.

^ ^ ^ ^ IMHO too
Quote by medievalkitty
(a) Will I need anything else other than the guitar? (b) Would I be able to learn guitar without lessons?

(a) You don't definitely need these things, but depending on what and how you play, a strap, stand, plectrums (picks) and a gigbag (if you travel with the guitar) wouldn't hurt. EDIT: and a tuner.

(b) Do you have any prior musical instrument experience? I taught myself guitar but I played piano and drums before guitar. I'm not sure I'd have wanted to teach myself if I didn't have that prior knowledge. Even with it, I'm guessing I missed bits here and there.

That being said, Justinguitar is very, very good (website, free).