Hey dudes and dudettes, first time poster. I'm an avid guitarist and gear head, and I'm looking for some solid advice. I recently had to downsize my rig from an Orange TH30 head and Orange 2x12 Cab (closed back with vintage 30s), great tones and versatility and a lot of meat (chunky sound). Typically I play with an American strat and an American les Paul. I ADORED the clean sound of that amp, and the distortion wasn't to bad either. Now I'm looking for a replacement, that I can play in my flat (at reasonable volumes) and still get great tones. An FX loop is a must and I'm thinking a 1x12 closed back cab will help with retaining some low end, but I'm at a loss for Amps and could do with some recommendations. Valve pre and power sections are also a must. Power scaling is helpful up not necessary, but the 30 watts the orange put out was just far too much for me.
The TH30 had some real fender-like cleans, but in general I like my crunch to be British and mid forward sounding. If only they made a 10 watt version of that orange! I really dig the orange vibe generally. If the front end takes drive pedals well that's a plus definitely.
I know this is super specific but hopefully some input should help me. Budget of 750ish dollars not set in stone if I found something I really liked.

Look forward to your input guys!

Tom
Small amps don't sound better than big amps at low volumes.

In fact, everything sounds better at higher volumes until the points where it starts hurting.
That's because of the fletcher-munson curves and the fact that guitar speakers are heavy and difficult to move and they distort signals in not really pleasant ways when they play stuff at fairly low volumes.

So, power scaling from 30w to 10w would give you a reduction in maximum volume of about 4.5dB, which could simply be compensated for on the 30w amp by turning the volume down a bit.