i tried to put a gfs crunchy pat in the bridge position and i cannot get it to work. ive tried gfs's wiring and i tried seymour duncans wiring, i even tried seprating the white and red wire and soldering them seperately to the switch. i have ground the bare braid to pot. im also new to soldering. just ready to give up at this point. its a way switch btw. the gfs pickup has 5 wires and the old ibanez pickup only had 3, a white, red, and bare braided. the gfs has black, green, red/white, and bare braid. thanks.
Squier Vintage Modified 1970s Stratocaster.
Squier Classic Vibe 1970s Precision Bass
Guitar Rig 5
Presonus Audiobox
Behringer Truth B2030A
I've had good luck with GFS pickups, I'm sure you used their color code but lets just go over it anyways.

lets first assume you don't have a multimeter and this is how I'd go about doing so

the first thing I'd check for is if the red and white wire soldered together are touching anything inside the control cavity. If so use electric tape or heat shrink tubing.

the the next common issue I fix/find in guitars is that the red/white wire are not soldered together sometimes. As we know the north finish and south start have to be soldered together. Without it you won't get any sound.

the next thing I'd do is re-evaluate the wiring.
black and bare on the pickup must be ground
green is the only wire going to the selectors hot lead
the wiring diagram can be found on seymour duncans page, remember to use GFS color code. Some reason every pickup company feels the need to use different colors.

assuming you do have a multimeter set it to 20k in ohms and press down on the ground wires on one probe and the red wire on the other and look for a reading. You get 4 readings.

peak resistance (full power) - green on one probe black and bare on probe 2
a classic coilsplit - black / bare (probe 1) and red/white probe 2
parallel wiring - green/black (probe 1) - red/white/bare (probe 2)