I've been playing guitar, bass, and drums for a few years and I've gotten intermidiate.
My timing sounds good and nobody notices anything wrong.
But when I record myself and put a metronome on it, I feel like I'm way off.
How do musicians in bands do it? How do they play perfectly?
Last edited by DudeIsOnFire at Jan 17, 2015,
Simple.

Practice

Practice

Practice

with a metronome or drum machine. About 4 years in my first band with a drum machine and live drummers drove me nuts. I've done it 3 times now, I notice even slight variations in human drummers.

No way around it. If you want to improve your timing, metronome or drum machine. I play in a band with a drum machine now, first few weeks I sucked, hadn't played with a drum machine in almost 15 years. Still a little iffy after a year once in a while, but usually I have no trouble now. It will take time though. Use some sort of electronic timing...click track, metronome, drum machine...every time you practice. It will take a couple of months, and you'll get comfortable with it and be able to play right along with no trouble.
Hmmm...I wonder what this button does...
Last edited by Paleo Pete at Jan 17, 2015,
Yup just what the dude above said. Metronome or drum machine. If you're into doing some book work the musicians institute released a book i think called rhythmic lead guitar by ? Barret Tagliarino?. Dont have it in front of me right now but I'm pretty sure that's it. Worth checking out
A metronome will help even though it can get a little annoying, its still very helpful. I've been slacking on it myself to be honest lol.
Are you really way off or does it just feel like it? Musicians in bands don't play perfectly. And that's fine. When bands record stuff it's fixed to sound perfect.
After reading again I guess I need to clarify one thing.

How do musicians in bands do it? How do they play perfectly?