Hey guys, need some advice as want to be sure I'm correct.

While jamming with a friend (relatively low volume btw - 2/10 on my "drive volume" and between 2 to 5 on my drive channel), my amp just cut out. The red "on" light could not be turned on, so power is clearly not reaching the amp.
Tried different kettle cables and different plug sockets, and no difference - all had no power.

Some quick research says it was likely that my fuse blew, and power tubes needs to be replaced (they are years old - barely touched my amp in the last two years, last time I used it regularly was probably around five years ago (and even then not on a regular basis at all). Started using the amp again recently, probably had an hour or two's play time in the last week before this happened).

Would it be correct in assuming this? I am going to order new HT fuses and new power tubes. I took the HT fuse out of my amp, and although I have no experience I can't see it was blown or not, it may have a small grey region on it but not sure if that's just how the wire in the middle was constructed (I will assume it has blown though regardless).

Is there anything else it is likely to be, and is this a common way for power tubes to reach the end of their lifetime?

Thanks.
Sunn O))):
Quote by Doppelgänger
You could always just sleep beside your refrigerator.

Guitar:
- Ibanez S670FM w/ JB
- Fender 'Lite Ash' Stratocaster
- Fender '72 Deluxe Telecaster
- Arbiter LP Jr. Doublecut
Amp:
- Laney VC15

'72 Tele Appreciation Group
RIP DIO
Quote by Simsimius
Is there anything else it is likely to be, and is this a common way for power tubes to reach the end of their lifetime?
Your power tubes aren't necessarily blown, but your fuse likely is.

Change the fuse, and if it burns again change the power tubes before putting another fuse in there.

What amp have you got anyway?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O