Hey, everybody. Ive been playing guitar for about 11 years and have come a long long way. But lately my playing has gone stale. I get stuck in the same chord patterns and always end up strumming the same way. Even when i try to change it i always end up back doing the same old thing. Its getting frustrated and im getting to the point where i dont even want to pick up the guitar. Anybody else ever experience this and/or does anyone have any advice for me?
Put down the guitar and step away. Go some place else and think about the sounds you want to make. Really think about it hard. Seriously. Think about the sounds you want to be making rather than just picking up a guitar and hoping something cool's going to happen. Then, once you know what sounds you want to be making, try and find those sounds on the guitar. It'll be a hard process but that's how you make satisfying music.

The problem, at the heart of it, is that you're allowing your hands to dictate what you're playing by not thinking about it enough. There are actually a whole load of ways to try and get around this but really, crucially, that's what the problem is. Every solution is just going to be a different way of getting around the issue that you're just letting yourself run over familiar patterns without thinking about it enough.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Learn a different style. I think that is better than a different genre, because you have to do what interests you most. For example, I took up slide guitar when I got stuck in a rut about 20 years ago, and I'm also working intermittently on uke, lap steel and emulating flatpicking techniques, among other things. - But pretty much the same kinds of music as I started out with.
Hello All,