I've never used a delay pedal before, but MF had a great deal on the Hardwire DL-8, so I picked one up. I get how delay is used for the whole ambient, trippy type of music, but I don't play that. I just play standard rock and blues, along with some funk, so I'm curious how to use delay in this context. The slap-back setting sounds nice, but it's pretty similar to reverb at that point.

What are some other ways to use this effect? I guess I'm just not really seeing a reason to keep it on my board, but it seems like everyone uses it so I feel like I'm missing out on something here.
Well, Neil Young has used echo & delay effects for several pieces over the years:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pT3jnu1yJO0&sns=em

Ditto Robin Trower:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJg77sj3bb8&sns=em
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Jan 20, 2015,
Delay can be used in a couple of different ways. The people already mentioned generally used the older tape based Echoplex, which used a tape loop at various speeds to create a wide variety of echoes.

David Gilmour also uses one, Eric Johnson, and a lot of other people.

Mine is a Arion Analog Delay, older pedal but should work similar to the newer model you're getting. Most of the time I hear either one or two echoes at different timings and presence levels. I like to set mine for one echo at a medium level, more than that tends to be distracting to me when I play.