Hello Bassists!

I'm a guitarist and I've been really contemplating buying an acoustic bass to mess around with but I'm not sure if this is just a temporary excitement that I'm going to end up wondering why I did. I know a few people who have basses and I've fiddled with them in the past and enjoyed it. I like low end tones and have also contemplated getting an 8 string guitar too, but now bass has come up since I'm thinking I wouldn't use an 8 to its full potential plus if I like low end, maybe bass is a better choice, and my lack of theory to really write stuff would not be favourable for the 8 string's potential. I was just wondering, what made YOU buy a bass? What do you like about it? How would one use it to its full potential? What cheap acoustic basses should i look at? Preferably one i can amp up too.
Ibanez may have what you are looking for: Ibanez SRC6
It's amazingly fun to play, for those who like that low tone but still want to pull of chords.
I started out on guitar but a friends band needed a bass player. That's what got me into it. Around here (and it may be this way elsewhere) not many people play bass because they feel as if they're failed guitar players. I enjoy both equally and look at them as completely different instruments. I'd say get one just to mess around with at the very least. There are ways that playing bass can help you with playing guitar.
I suck on guitar, no but seriously, Flea, John Paul Jones, and Paul Mccartney is probably the reason I play bass, your question for how to use it to it's full potential is probably just use it for the way it should, just hold the groove, you don't really need to be the main instrument, execpt for some songs, or play some jaco's or rush tunes lol, btw for the bass what's your budget.
Last edited by fabianaryo at Jan 23, 2015,
I started playing bass because I was curious as to what playing frets was like after 5 years on the piano and I didn't want to play the guitar (I play it now though).