I realise the question I'm asking may have been asked before but possibly not in this way, so I thought I'd start a new thread. I'm a rhythm guitarist in a sludge/doom metal band. My lead guitarist is complaining he cannot cut through my rhythm sound when we rehearse but instead of finding ways to cut through, he is telling me my sound needs modifying. We both have the same amps (Orange CR120c) and my channel 2 dirty setting is to have the gain between 3/4 and 7/8' my tone at around 3/4, bass around 5/8, mids at around 1/4 to 3/8 with the channel vol at just under a half and my master vol in rehearsals at just over 1/2. So I don't think I'm particularly saturating my sound, however he claims he cannot cut through and I should knock the vol down on my guitar when he solos. Surely it's the other way round and he just needs his channel vol slightly higher than mine, but he swears blind my sound is the one that needs to change. I'm not adverse to doing some tweaking but on the other hand I don't want to compromise my rhythm sound. Am I going mad or should it be him who tweaks his sound to cut through mine when he solos?
Yes, new post is good, just next time please divide your message in paragraphs, that was painful to read and use the same "scale" when referring to knobs, say on a scale from 1 to 10, it's a bit painful to read it that way

Try knocking your gain down a bit, else you're likely gonna sound muddy.
How's your treble set?
That might be a problem as well, try and lower them just in case, else you're gonna fill too much of the part of the spectrum the lead guitar's supposed to occupy.

Also for everybody's sake raise your mids.

Then, tell your lead guitarist to lower the bass and raise the highs, possibly raise the gain.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.