Hey guys, what's up? I've been playing the guitar for almost 1 year and a half (self-taught) and I've been really wanting to start composing my own stuff. I know it's early but I'm eager to learn along with the experience!
I have tried a bunch of times but the songs end up sounding... too simple! Mainstream chords and all. I have seen people play chords I never heard of and I just wonder, how do they come up with those chords? They're probably existing chords but how do they get there... Perhaps someone could shed some light on this (dark) matter? Thanks in advance.
The answer I would give to this is long for a forum, but it's really kind of simple. I will probably make a video that you would find useful. At the end of the day, it's always your mind and creativity that decides what to play, but there is a good deal of useful for knowledge out there for understanding music, and if it is explained right, it is simple. It can also be explained in such a way that makes it seem like the most complicated thing in the universe.
Quote by fingrpikingood
The answer I would give to this is long for a forum, but it's really kind of simple. I will probably make a video that you would find useful. At the end of the day, it's always your mind and creativity that decides what to play, but there is a good deal of useful for knowledge out there for understanding music, and if it is explained right, it is simple. It can also be explained in such a way that makes it seem like the most complicated thing in the universe.

If you end up doing that video you mentioned, please post it. Shine on!