As the title says, I'm a complete beginner with the guitar and have only recently begun playing. I'm working my way through some basic exercises and chords, and I've got to the point where the F chord is introduced. I've done enough reading to know that the F chord is supposed to be the worst of them all, and that it only comes with practice, practice, practice, so that's all fine.

I'm just curious if the F chord is so difficult because of the pressure you have to exert with your barred finger. I ask because it seems like C#m is much easier to pull off, whereas I really need to exert a *ton* of pressure to get F even remotely close to clear. Is that just how it is, or is that partially the result of my soft fingers (still building calluses)?

Practice, practice, practice...
That's pretty much it - the F chord fiddly because you're fretting so close to the nut, meaning you need more pressure than you'd need further up the neck - it just boils down to physics at the end of the day.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
When barring chords close to the nut (okay lets use F Major), remember that the notes on the A, D and G strings are being fretted by your other 3 fingers. So as you lay your index finger across those 3 strings, take advantage of that fact, so you can relax the (index finger) pressure off those 3 strings a little.

With practice you'll find this comes naturally and most of the pressure will be isolated to the Thick E String (using the top of your index finger) and the 2 thinnest strings (for me it's just above my index finger's 2nd knuckle). In essence you are slightly curving your index finger to release the pressure from the A, D and G strings (as previously mentioned).